Institut français de Budapest

Die Hochstapler / BIO – Open Form #2

JAZZAJ at Transparent Sound

The Transparent Sound Festival and JazzaJ present:
19:00 Die Hochstapler (I/F/D)
20:00 Budapest Improvisers Orchestra


The members of the Die Hochstapler German-French-Italian quartet have established a unique framework of improvisation and composition during their 10-year collaboration. Their performances are driven by a singular but complex set of rules that were elaborated through a long-drawn cooperation proceeding from the traits of different lingual and communicational systems such as card games, the alphabet, mathematical structures or various text fragments. Their continuously changing, playfully exciting musical fabric is created from the offerings of the four independent participants and the respective responses they get. The practices of their mastercourse on the day before the concert initiate the attendees to this peculiar form of collective creation.



The Budapest Improvisers Orchestra (BIO) is a strange fruit of the 10-year-old JAZZAJ concert series and workshop cooperations. It has composers, contemporary classical and free jazz musicians among its members who approach the collective playground of improvisation from numerous angles. BIO mostly performs avantgarde open-form pieces beside their own compositions and free improvisation. Their performance at Átlátszó Hang in January could only reach the audience as a special site-specific video due to the pandemic. This time they prepare to challenge the conventional forms through a somewhat similar idea – but in present tense and shared space: OFFLINE.



The programme is supported by NKA, Institut Français en Hongrie, Goethe-Institut Budapest and Istituto Italiano di Cultura di Budapest


  • Die Hochstapler
    • Louis Laurain - trumpet
    • Pierre Borel - alt saxophone
    • Antonio Borghini - double bass
    • Hannes Lingens - drums
  • BIO
    • Tara Khozein - vocals
    • János Bali - recorder, electronics
    • Dániel Váczi - glissonic
    • Gergő Kováts - saxophone
    • Bálint Bolcsó - electronics
    • Eszter Krulik - violin
    • Endre Kertész - cello
    • Ernő Hock - double bass
    • Gergely Kovács - drums