Online FONÓ event

Budapest Improvisers Orchestra: Open Form #1

Transparent Sound and JazzaJ presents


// 0:20 Tara Khozein: Solo Space

// 1:34 Bali János, Kertész Endre, Kovács Gergely: Space no.1

// 4:39 Budapest Improvisers Orchestra: Fixed Space

// 11:26 Budapest Improvisers Orchestra: Moving Space

// 21:21 Ajtai Péter, Jávorka Ádám, Kertész Endre: Fürdőszoba trió

// 25:45 Tornyai Péter: Simone Weil-meditációk
JazzaJ, founded in 2011, is a concert series and music workshop uniting the Hungarian musical improv scene. It aims to form connections between free jazz, noise, experimental folk and classical musicians and provide a common platform for them, as they usually create in isolation from each other.

The Budapest Improvisers Orchestra (BIO) was formed based on a similar collaborative network. The ensemble of nine, called together by the initiative of Ernő Zoltán Rubik and Péter Ajtai in 2016, performs open-form works and free improvisations. Within the framework of their “Open Form” series, they collaborate with open and playful composers, who think of improvisation as an exciting artistic tool, rather than a disturbing contingency. Among the members one can find composers, classical musicians playing contemporary music and performers from the free jazz scene.


Tara Khozein: Solo Space
Bali János, Kertész Endre, Kovács Gergely: Space no. 1
Budapest Improvisers Orchestra: Fixed Space
Budapest Improvisers Orchestra: Moving Space
Ajtai Péter, Jávorka Ádám, Kertész Endre: Bathroom-Trio
Tornyai Péter: Simone Weil-meditations




Donation for communities in need!


Dear Friends!


Because of our wonderful partners and organizers, we are lucky enough to bring you all of our events in January for free! Likewise, you are lucky enough to be the owner of a screen which gives you access to this online space, where we are working during the pandemic. The current global situation makes the lives of those who are already struggling, even harder. That is why we are asking you to kindly send the money that you would normally spend on tickets for our events, instead to an organization working with people in need.


Further information of the organization: Csörögi Tanoda


Details you will need for the payment:
PayPal link
Mahájána Alapítvány
IBAN: OTP Bank HU38117130122000416100000000


  • Péter Ajtai - double bass
  • János Bali - recorders, electronics
  • Bálint Bolcsó - electronics
  • Endre Kertész - cello
  • Gergely Kovács - percussions
  • Gergő Kováts - tenor saxophone
  • Dániel Váczi - glissonic
  • Ernő Zoltán Rubik - piano, objects
  • Ádám Jávorka - violin
  • Tara Khozein - voice
  • Zoltán Ká - video
  • Dávid Tamás Pap - sound